present there are three Eskimos on the elected Council of the Northwest Territories.

The Inuit Tapirisat of Canada (Eskimo Brotherhood) was founded in 1971 with financial assistance from the Department of the Secretary of State. In consultation with the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development the ITC has begun several programs, including a study of land claims, a land-use and occupancy study, a legal assistance program, a language commission to study the possibility of standardizing Inuit orthography, sponsorship of a cultural and educational centre and production of a layman's information guide to Canadian law entitled *Inuit and the law*.

With the search for oil, gas and minerals in the Arctic, many Inuit are finding employment in petroleum and related industries. However, many still live by their traditional skills of hunting, trapping and fishing. One of the most successful enterprises is the production and sale of Inuit artwork — stone, bone and ivory sculpture, and graphics. The industry is expand-

ing and co-operatives run by the Inuit ensure a good return to the artist.

Communications, long a problem in the Arctic, have recently entered a new era with the introduction of ANIK, a communications satellite through which telephone, radio and television transmissions are beamed to a number of northern communities. The motorized toboggan has replaced the traditional dog sled, and for longer journeys the airplane is used. Few communities are without airstrips. STOL* (short take-off and landing) and jet aircraft have also made the huge spaces of the North more accessible.

3.2.6 Departments, boards, commissions and corporations

In Canada the work of government is conducted by federal departments, special boards, commissions and Crown corporations. During the past quarter-century this last type of organization, the Crown corporation, has been used frequently for administering and managing many public services in which business enterprise and public accountability must be combined. The historical evolution of Crown corporations is described in the 1972 Canada Year Book p 153. Part VIII of the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10) provides a uniform system of financial and budgetary control and of accounting, auditing and reporting for Crown corporations. In addition, that legislation defines a Crown corporation as a corporation that is ultimately accountable, through a Minister, to Parliament for the conduct of its affairs and establishes three classes of corporation — departmental, agency and proprietary.

Departmental corporations. A departmental corporation is defined as a Crown corporation that is a servant or agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada and is responsible for administrative, supervisory or regulatory services of a governmental nature. The following corporations are classified as departmental corporations in Schedule B to the Financial Administration Act:

Agricultural Stabilization Board
Atomic Energy Control Board
Director of Soldier Settlement
The Director, The Veterans' Land Act
Economic Council of Canada
Fisheries Prices Support Board
Medical Research Council
Municipal Development and Loan Board
National Museums of Canada
National Research Council
Science Council of Canada
Unemployment Insurance Commission.

Agency corporations. An agency corporation is defined as a Crown corporation that is an agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada and is responsible for the management of trading or service operations on a quasi-commercial basis or for the management of procurement, construction or disposal activities on behalf of Her Majesty in right of Canada. The following corporations are classified as agency corporations in Schedule C to the Financial Administration Act:

Atomic Energy of Canada Limited

Canadian Arsenals Limited

Canadian Commercial Corporation

Canadian Dairy Commission

Canadian Film Development Corporation

Canadian Livestock Feed Board

Canadian National (West Indies) Steamships Limited